I have no doubt that American efforts at security on this front are inadaquate, incompetent, etc. But hypocritical? Nah.
Love seeing pop up like it’s new or something.
Says the tech rag hailing from the 5-eyes nation known as the UK...
> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4COrX9YHcU
You're linking to a 36 minute video titled "Black Hat USA 2025 | China's 5+ Year Campaign to Penetrate Perimeter Network Defenses." There's nothing in the description about "USA company bought an Indian OS to turn into it's SOHO router/firewall product."
Either you linked the wrong thing or you need a better source.
If people are calling this hypocrisy, then I suspect there's a larger moral argument that hasn't been articulated.
Calling it hypocrisy is at the very least good propaganda to try to wake Americans up from their stupor.
Admittedly though with Trump there’s no hypocritical propaganda any more. He just says he “wants the oil” or whatever.
It's not just logical, it's affective: There is a real pleasure in domination, and a real fear in any loss of control. It feels good to be strong, to be in control, to be protected but not bound. Domination is hegemony, hegemony is safety.
These billionaires genuinely feel themselves to be oppressed if their power is threatened in any way. [1]
---
I did not. The speaker clearly says in the video, twice, that they bought their OS from an Indian company. Anyways, here's the direct link to the quote:
https://youtu.be/z4COrX9YHcU?si=hzsYtprPeYkEC9DF&t=303
Perhaps your assumption should be that your efforts were inadequate rather than others.
You also could have opened the transcription panel and literally just searched for "india."
There is an element of hypocrisy in all this because American intelligence agencies were previously caught intercepting Cisco-made routers on their way to customers
No there isn't! That's not hypocritical! Words mean things!
Other nations being sad when you get punched in the nose is only useful if you have no effective way to respond.
Half the world disliked the US during the Cold War. People act like any of what is going on is new.
Citing national security fears, America is effectively banning any new consumer-grade network routers made abroad.
The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has updated its Covered List to include all foreign-made consumer routers, prohibiting the approval of any new models.
For clarification, the FCC says this change does not prevent the import, sale, or use of any existing models that the agency previously authorized.
That Covered List details equipment and services covered by Section 2 of The Secure Networks Act, which, by their inclusion, are deemed to pose an unacceptable risk to US national security.
According to the FCC, this move follows a determination by a "White House-convened Executive Branch interagency body with appropriate national security expertise," in line with President Trump's National Security Strategy that the US must not be dependent on any other country for core components necessary to the nation's defense or economy.
Its determination was that foreign-produced routers introduce a supply chain vulnerability which could disrupt critical infrastructure and national defense, and pose a severe cybersecurity risk that could harm Americans.
The FCC notes that miscreants have exploited security flaws in routers to disrupt networks or steal intellectual property, and routers are also implicated in the Volt, Flax, and Salt Typhoon cyberattacks.
There is an element of hypocrisy in all this because American intelligence agencies were previously caught intercepting Cisco-made routers on their way to customers and updating their firmware to deploy espionage tools.
The flaw with the policy is that practically all routers are manufactured in other countries, even those sold by American firms such as Cisco or Netgear. According to the BBC, the one exception is the newer Starlink Wi-Fi router, which the company says is manufactured in Texas.
Thus this could be viewed as another heavy-handed market interference by the Trump administration, in a bid to get IT companies to invest in manufacturing on US soil.
One commenter on Reddit remarked: "I also think it's bloody silly. Just not overwhelmingly silly as suddenly banning ALL new routers not made in America, given that it'll take years to spool up the production capacity alone."
Another said: "So that means we are stuck with 2026 routers for years, because chances are no one is going to build them in the US when this administration's policies change every 10 seconds."
There is an exemption for products that the Department of Defense or the Department of Homeland Security have granted "Conditional Approval" after finding these devices do not pose such unacceptable risks. Router makers can apply to the FCC to get on the approved list.
"I welcome this Executive Branch national security determination, and I am pleased that the FCC has now added foreign-produced routers, which were found to pose an unacceptable national security risk, to the FCC's Covered List," stated FCC chair Brendan Carr. ®
I listen to "Ice Ice Matrix" more often than I'd like to admit and every time I hear "Did you stop?" "No, I just drove by" I remember years ago solving these toy examples.